The Competition Commission is a statutory body established in 2009 to enforce the Competition Act 2007. This Act established a competition regime in Mauritius, under which the Competition Commission can investigate possible anticompetitive behavior by businesses. In its investigations, the Competition Commission has considerable powers to compel businesses and others involved to provide information. If it decides that a business’s conduct is anticompetitive, it has strong powers to intervene and correct the situation. Where businesses have been found to be deliberately agreeing to fix prices or share markets, the Commission can impose fines.

The Commission is a parastatal, under the aegis of the Ministry of Commerce and Consumer Protection. However, the Commission is independent of Government in its decision-making. The Executive Director of the Commission, supported by his staff, decides independently what to investigate and carries out the investigation. Decisions are then taken by five Commissioners, headed by a Chairman. The Executive Director is not a Commissioner.

Our Mission

To enhance market competition, creating more economic opportunities for the benefit of all Mauritians

Our Vision

An impactful institution within the Mauritian economy,  shaping business landscape and driving economic progress through the force of competition

Chairperson and Commissioners

Commissioners, headed by a Chairman, together constitute ‘The Competition Commission’ as established by the Competition Act 2007. The Commissioners, meeting together, act as the strategic decision-making body for the Competition Commission as an institution. They also make the decisions on all investigations of restrictive practices under the Act, conducting hearings with the parties concerned and, where necessary, imposing directions or agreeing undertakings.

The Act provides for up to five Commissioners to be appointed.


Me Mahmad Aleem BOCUS
Chairperson of the Commission
Vice Chairperson​ of the Commission
Vedwantee BIKHOO
Sharda Devi Dindoyal
Michael Lennon

Executive Director

Deshmuk Kowlessur
Executive Director

Senior Staff

Aniro Rama
Head Corporate Services
Vipin Naugah
Head Investigations
Sudesh Puran
Head Investigations
Sailesh Ramyead
Head Investigations